‘Crap’ is better than nothing.

I felt unfit and really wanted to hit the gym, but driving to my nearest gym would take so much time that I didn’t have and it would cost money/fuel to get to, plus I was too cosy at home lol. Instead of wasting more time contemplating whether or not to go to the gym, I decided to do a home workout. A home workout wasn’t as great as going to the gym, but I saved a lot of time and still worked up a sweat, plus it was better than thinking about going to the gym and not actually moving lol.

Since the start of 2016, I made it a habit of uploading a YouTube video on my channel ‘Rice and Grind’ at least once a month. Last Saturday, I realised it was near the end of January and I had no content to upload. My last resort was to do what I do best – acting like a fool – and recording it. So I gathered some props, asked my cousin Nikki to be my “uke” and got my dad to hold my phone to record. Whilst editing the recording, I didn’t find it that entertaining at the time lol, but when I was done I uploaded it straight away anyway. After a few hours, the video received lots of positive feedback! More people than I expected shared the video. One person on Facebook told me that he was having a rough week and that my video cheered him up! A video that I planned, shot, edited and uploaded, all within two hours was able to switch people’s moods just like that, it was a great feeling. You can find the video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1WD8d9v3GTU&lc=z12aj1jghmbycl53w22tyzuh1quvdbeiu04

I could go on, but you get the point lol.

Even if you spend hours, days, years on a creation or performance, even if you find it unsatisfying or “crap”, it still puts you ahead of the position you were in before, and the experience of it gives you the opportunity to develop. 

Something that you may find crap, could be amazing to at least one person, and one person is better than no-one :). 

More importantly, doing something is better than doing nothing.

p.s. I finished writing up a script for a short comedy film, this will be my first proper short film that isn’t a uni project. Subscribe to my YouTube channels, add me on Facebook or follow me on Instagram to keep up to date with it all 🙂

Main: https://www.youtube.com/c/riceandgrind

Vlogs: https://www.youtube.com/c/nicoricevlogs

Facebook: Nick Velasco

Da ‘gram: @yonicorice

16443665_10211255909667271_1509189268_n-1

Leave a Reply

